Skip to content

Happy International Women’s Day 2011!!!!

March 8, 2011

Quotes about Women

“Because I am a woman, I must make unusual efforts to succeed.  If I fail, no one will say, “She doesn’t have what it takes.”  They will say, “Women don’t have what it takes.”  ~Clare Boothe Luce

I myself have never been able to find out precisely what feminism is:  I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a door mat or a prostitute.  ~Rebecca West, “Mr Chesterton in Hysterics: A Study in Prejudice,” The Clarion, 14 Nov 1913, reprinted in The Young Rebecca, 1982

Women have been taught that, for us, the earth is flat, and that if we venture out, we will fall off the edge.  ~Author Unknown

Remember, Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, but backwards and in high heels.  ~Faith Whittlesey

I wish someone would have told me that, just because I’m a girl, I don’t have to get married.  ~Marlo Thomas

Women are the only oppressed group in our society that lives in intimate association with their opressors.  ~Evelyn Cunningham

The thing women have yet to learn is nobody gives you power.  You just take it.  ~Roseanne Barr

Feminism is the radical notion that women are people.  ~Cheris Kramarae and Paula Treichler


Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.  ~Timothy Leary

History is herstory too.  ~Author Unknown

Men are taught to apologize for their weaknesses, women for their strengths.  ~Lois Wyse

There are very few jobs that actually require a penis or vagina.  All other jobs should be open to everybody.  ~Florynce Kennedy

I’ve yet to be on a campus where most women weren’t worrying about some aspect of combining marriage, children, and a career.  I’ve yet to find one where many men were worrying about the same thing.  ~Gloria Steinem


Most women are one man away from welfare.  ~Gloria Steinem

It matters more what’s in a woman’s face than what’s on it.  ~Claudette Colbert, quoted in Kindling the Spirit by Lois P. Frankel

To tell a woman everything she may not do is to tell her what she can do.  ~Spanish Proverb

Women are not inherently passive or peaceful.  We’re not inherently anything but human.  ~Robin Morgan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment
  1. Great quotes! Very inspiring. Happy International Women’s Day!

Leave a Reply

