Skip to content

Celebrating Life Without Baby

September 26, 2011

I don’t necessarily want kids. A lot of our friends are having children and I don’t know if it’s for me. I haven’t come down hardcore on either side of the argument. I think when people come from a stable family having children becomes a celebration and I’m not sure it would be that way for me.
Jon Hamm

What is not to celebrate about life without kids? I don’t mean to put down parents because that is not what I’m talking about. I mean, we as child-free-by-choice people should celebrate their lives and be proud of being kid-free because it’s something that needs greater acceptance in the world.

The media portrays a woman who does not want a baby as a cold, career-driven bitch. But the truth is, most women I know who are career-driven maniacs are actually moms. I am the one without a kid, and I try to call in sick as often as possible (I hope my boss isn’t reading my blog!). My education and career are important but they aren’t the bane of my existence. Many childfree women can attest to this.

I celebrate not having kids every day, whether I’m sleeping in on a Sunday morning and enjoying a Turkish coffee with the New York Times, and Metric playing on my iPod; or I’m throwing a huge anniversary bash for my friends. I am reminded that I do not have kids and I’m very thankful for it. To me, the whole world is full of opportunities this way. If I want to spend a year in Lima, and then spend a year in Hanoi–I can. I don’t have to worry about a good school district or any of that parental stuff. Parents celebrate birthdays, milestones and graduations and I like to celebrate having friends in my life, last minute travel deals, freedom, spontaneity and SLEEP. Even at age 22, I appreciate a full 8 hours of shut eye.

Having a child sure is an achievement, but for a person who decides not to have one they can appreciate the achievements in their lives that occurred because of the fact they chose not to have a child. Being child-free is not something we need to bury deep, but is something that should be socially acceptable to proclaim because it has reverence in our lives. Child-free women (and men) should revere in their childfreedom because they can celebrate their autonomy, individualism and liberty.

Life without a baby is not sad and pitiful, it is blissful and jubilant for those who choose it. There are other things and people that please us and makes us happy, and those are the things we choose in life. Maybe it is still the “norm” for women to just pop out kids and become a mom but it is also normal to reclaim your lives and your womanhood and revel and treasure the elements of your existence that you have decided to have in your life.

From → childfree

One Comment
  1. Agree!
    I consciously celebrate being child-free on a fairly regular basis. (That sounds like bull, but it’s easy to not take being child-free for granted when there’s constantly news of some celebrity or other with a “baby bump.”)

Leave a Reply

