Skip to content

Childfree People Don’t HATE Kids

September 27, 2011

I have revisited this topic in previous blog posts but it seems that in reality, a lot of parents think the childfree are aggressive and hate children. This is not true. There is a difference between not wanting your own offspring and hating children. We don’t have parent rose coloured glasses, so all the “cute” behaviour of every infant in the universe may not be “cute” to us. But that doesn’t mean we don’t love to death the children in our own lives from friend’s kids, nephews, nieces, godsons and goddaughters and co-worker’s kids or the cute kid of some neighbour in the community.

There are many people in my Childfree group on Facebook, which has 150 members, who post regularly about great weekends with their nephews and friend’s kids. They are completely content to spend time with other people’s children (and give them back at the end of the day). I echo these sentiments. It’s nice to entertain a child who is family or well-behaved for a while, and be surrounded by kids. It brings out the goofy side of us adults who are jaded by long stints at work and mountains of bills. Kids remind us that the world is fun and weird and full of curiosities. And yes, some of that are as cute as they are stinky!

I posted a few months ago a few pictures of my cousins and my good friend’s kids and so I thought I’d update their pictures. I love these kids and enjoy their company, and I even don’t mind babysitting once in a while or watching Bob the Builder with them. Just because I don’t have kids of my own doesn’t mean I’m going to bake them in the oven 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From → childfree, My CF Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

