Skip to content

Dogs Dogs Dogs

October 3, 2011

“The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man’s.”
– Mark Twain, Letter to W D Howells, 4/2/1899

I have noticed a bevy of dog adoption posts on my friend’s Facebook walls from the United States, particularly in Texas. I would just like to urge anyone who has thought about getting a pet, to consider adopting a dog who’s life needs saving. That dog could be your best friend.

We know these dogs will be euthanized. Some dogs are given up because of issues owners do not know how to fix, or because they have grown too large. Some dogs are given up because the family is now expecting children. At our own Toronto Humane Society, the number of dogs that need adopting is sky-high. I looked a few months ago, and the number was only 7. Now there is 18 dogs. There are 2 lab puppies that are 2 months old.

I’m not sure about the U.S but petfinder.com helps you  locate dogs in shelters. It is a good idea to get your dog from a shelter that will euthanize the animal if not rescued. Of course, dogs in no-kill shelters need homes as well.

Save a life, adopt a dog.

http://www.torontohumanesociety.com/dogs.htm – Dogs available for adoption in Toronto, Canada.

http://www.austinrescue.com/ – Dogs available for adoption in Austin, Texas, USA

http://petsforpeople.org/adoption.aspx -Dogs available for adoption in Southeast Texas, USA

 

From → My CF Life

One Comment
  1. Liz permalink

    I agree! My childhood dog was one we got at the humane society (in that case, a no-kill shelter.) For me, the only drawback to getting a dog from a shelter is that going to the shelter to select one is absolutely heartbreaking. The fact that I can’t take them all home makes me so sad.

    Shelter dogs are often “mutts.” What a lot of people don’t realize is that mutts tend to be much healthier than pure-bred animals, which have a much more shallow gene pool. Sure, some of them aren’t as “cute” – but my husband and I are planning to adopt a shelter dog, and we think we’re going to pick the ugliest one we think will be least likely to get adopted by anyone else.

    Don’t help to perpetuate the puppy mill industry!!! Don’t buy from a pet store, and don’t buy from an independent breeder… adopt a dog in need.

Leave a Reply

