Skip to content

Reason #8 : My Sister

December 29, 2011

My sister is childfree. Well, she doesn’t have a blog, or write about it on Twitter…but that’s probably because she’s too busy skiing in Georgian Bay and sipping Long Island Iced Teas in San Francisco. If she wasn’t always so busy doing things that childfree people do, she’d probably have a blog like her nerdy little sister (me!) 🙂

Like most younger siblings, I look up to my big sis in every aspect of life. Everything she did, I did. She wore a yellow Nike suit to school…I (stole hers) and wore a yellow Nike suit to school. She went to C.College, I went to C.College too. She bought a pug, I bought a little pug too! You can clearly see where this trend is going…

But my sister is really cool, and has a super awesome life…did I mention her totally impressive loft?! In my second post, I wrote about how I’d rather live in a loft than a suburban house. I WANT A LOFT!!! But other than that, she works hard and has nice things, does a ton of cool things and makes the rounds to see all her friends and family (including me..yay!). She is in a 7 year long relationship, so it’s not like she’s the ugly sister that can’t get a date. (Actually, I’m the one who had to wear braces for 3 years!).

Alfred Adler says it all in his thesis on personality and how siblings can influence that. It’s not news that sibling relationships influence our adult behaviour, as well as influencing our social and emotional development.

Pyschcentral.com says, “Siblings are better role models of the more informal behaviors – how to act at school or on the street, or, most important, how to act cool around friends – that constitute the bulk of a child’s everyday experiences.

“Siblings are closer to the social environments that children find themselves in during the majority of their day, which is why it’s important not to overlook the contributions that they make on who we end up being.”


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

