Skip to content

Reason #13: Conformity

January 8, 2012

I’m not all Rebel With a Cause, or anything, and this hasn’t made my top ten list of reasons not to procreate but it’s one that is very viewable to me. Wherever I go, I see and hear about people having these amazing, great families. Why? Because it’s just “the thing to do.” Kinda like a herd of oxen driving itself off a ledge. Parenting and the obtaining of a family is written into so many movie plots, stories and into real life because people have been doing it forever, and so it must be completely wacky to assume a life without little pattering of feet. Caring for and having children has become the new American Nightmare Dream, whereas molding your own life of comfort, happiness and success seems to be on the back burner. Even though I’m Canadian, I say the American dream because we don’t have a saying like that…so I just assume we have the same thing except in our dream, it snows a lot more.

  If having kids wasn’t so conventionalist, maybe it wouldn’t be such a big deal to have them or not; but to me, it is traditional and uninspiring. If 8 out of 10 people became painters, I wouldn’t just want to be another run of the mill painter. I definitely don’t agree that to be a good mom, you’ll need X and X and X product, because that is what advertisements are shoving down women’s throats. So, not only are you living out a mediocre existence but now you’re living a pricy, mediocre existence and made to feel like crap if you don’t have such influential names like Nike, Apple and Dora in your household.

Seeing identical strollers, baby bumps in stripes and the same Katie Holmes smile  (post-Dawson Creek) everywhere gives me the goosebumps like The Stepford Wives or a creepy episode for the X-Files in which everyone loses their originality and their mind, and becomes a universal mold of the ideal family for Rick Santorum. Screw you, Santorum.

There is a lot of random, unique people who live life to the beat of their own drum without even thinking about it. Two-member families are also part of our society, and as important as those who choose to procreate. So what if they haven’t bought a Peg Perego and have 2.5 kids? Their contributions to the world make a difference. These are the people who are also donating to charities, adopting pets, building houses overseas in impoverished lands and doing a bunch of other stuff I can’t think of right now. I went to an orientation today for fostering animals at the local shelter, and one young woman said she had been bottle-feeding cats since she was 8 or 9, and could think of nothing more she wanted to do with her life than devote it to saving felines from certain death. She spent all her free time helping these homeless cats that people dumped like it was a discarded toy they were no longer interested in. Her life had meaning–and that significance didn’t materialize after 9 months.

I simply don’t want to conform. Whether it’s buying a North Face coat because it was on The Social Network, or eating mini-sliders because it’s the ‘next cool thing’ and everybody’s doing it, I’m not going to. Unless somebody takes me out to a free lunch :).  I don’t know exactly what I want to do with my life, I’m only 22, but I see it being spontaneous and full of substance. I want to have room for flexibility, and to be able to say “Okay, let’s do it. Let’s spend a year in Australia taming dingoes.” Or not. At least the option’s there.

One Comment
  1. DLadyEarlyGrey permalink

    I agree with this.

    Except for the taming dingoes part. We should not try and take the wild out of wild animals.

    And yes, I know you’re kidding.

    At least I hope so.

Leave a Reply

