Skip to content

Childfree Interview with Theresa C

February 4, 2012

Question # 1 – What made you decide to become, or gradually move towards becoming, a childfree person? Was this choice recent or has the idea been for a while? How do you think the idea of remaining childfree has evolved throughout your life?

I’ve always known that I did not want to be a mother.  Ever since I can remember, which by my recollection, is around the age of nine.  The idea of remaining childfree has definitely evolved as I’ve aged (I’m 45).  I’m more adamant and outspoken (I’ve been interviewed on TV at least three times regarding my decision).  I even have a personalized license plate:  CHLDFREE.  I can’t believe this decision is still news worthy and controversial.

 

Question # 2 – What main advantages do you think the childfree lifestyle has? Which advantages have you experienced in your own life? How about disadvantages or challenges of being childfree?

In my opinion there are NO disadvantages to being childfree.  The many advantages my husband and I enjoy are freedom, more disposable income, more time to spend together, more time doing what we want to do, when we want to do it.  So, FREEDOM would be the number one advantage.

 

Question #3- Has your family life/media/ influenced you in any way to not have kids in the future or have they in the past?

No.

 

Question #4 – Can you cite your 3 top reasons why you are choosing/have chose not to procreate?

I just don’t have any desire to be a parent.  That’s it.  Nothing more, nothing less.  I was born this way.  There is nothing that will change my mind.  I don’t really like babies or kids.  I had a tubal over ten years ago so that pretty much takes care of that.

 

Question #5 – Can you list some of your hobbies or aspirations?

Hobbies include cooking, entertaining, photography, wine tasting, helping animals.

 

Question #6 – Tell me a fun fact about yourself!

I hate cilantro.  Is that a fun fact?  LOL.

 

I am 45 years old, live with my husband of 17 years and our five cats in Burlington, ON.

From → childfree

One Comment
  1. Very good answers, I think. It really should be that cut and dry. “I don’t want kids, end of subject.” Alas, it’s just not that way. Society puts some sort of a social stigma on not having kids, and it’s awful.

Leave a Reply

