Skip to content

Use Condoms, People!

April 3, 2012
“I am not responsible enough with my own life to have the extra weight of making sure another being lives… and I’m not irresponsible enough to think that I will magically become responsible enough.” – Blog Post Commenter

Whenever a young friend on Facebook comments they’re pregnant (yet again…) I just shake my head. I don’t know how they’ll afford raising another child, especially in this economy but usually the first thought that runs in my head is “A pack of condoms on sale would’ve been cheaper!”  Everyone in my age group, 18-25 roughly, is having sex and probably a lot of sex. We are young, agile and our skin is still smooth and unwrinkled. The fountain of youth is on our side for now. I tell EVERYONE and I mean everyone, to use condoms if they’re not on birth control.

I have a whole drawer-ful of condoms I hand out like Christmas presents I got for free at the Pride Parade. Yes, there is some random Chinese writing on them that looks sketchy but hey–it should work 99% per cent of the time which means you don’t have to wake up hungover and worry how you’ll make a living 9 months from now, or if you got some girl you’re not even sure you LIKE preggo. Snooki and the Kardashian clan might look all glamorous pregnant in leopard print stilettos but babies aren’t just a hot trend like Chihuahuas were not too long ago–they are adults that need to be nurtured and shaped.

 

From → childfree

One Comment
  1. That’s such a wonderful quote you’ve highlighted! Love that you give out condoms like Christmas presents 😀

Leave a Reply

